Company publishes label-literacy framework comparing formula amounts against published clinical literature and manufacturing standards. The company uses its published ingredient list as a case study for reviewing dietary supplement labels, research, and manufacturing claims.

AURORA, Colo. — September 29, 2026 — Soda Horse Peak today published a comprehensive label-literacy framework and full ingredient dosing guide for its dietary supplement line, establishing a benchmark for consumer transparency in the multi-ingredient product category. Using its own publicly disclosed ingredient profile as a working case study, the guide provides a structured methodology for evaluating supplement labels, interpreting ingredient-level clinical research, and assessing manufacturing compliance without reliance on promotional claims.

“Companies increasingly publish milligram amounts, which is a step forward from blends that disclose nothing at all,” said Kevin Moore, Product Head at Soda Horse Peak. “But a published number only tells you what’s in the bottle. It doesn’t tell you what that number means relative to the research literature, how it was manufactured, or what happens if you want your money back. We wanted to walk consumers through all of that directly, using our own label as the example, rather than leaving it to marketing copy.”

Overview of Supplement Labeling and Transparency

The wellness supplement category includes products combining amino acids, botanical extracts, and micronutrients. Soda Horse Peak’s guide notes that labeling practices vary, with some products disclosing specific quantities and others using proprietary blends. The guide outlines five standard criteria for analyzing multi-ingredient dietary supplement labels, using the company’s published formulation as an illustrative example.

Question One: Is Every Ingredient Individually Dosed?

Soda Horse Peak’s label lists L-citrulline, L-carnitine, grape-seed extract, zinc citrate, vitamin B6 and niacin at individual milligram amounts. Three botanicals — Panax ginseng, maca root and rhodiola — are grouped into a single 200-milligram proprietary blend without individual disclosure. The company notes this distinction matters for comparison shopping: an individually listed ingredient’s amount can be weighed against published research examined in connection with that ingredient, while a blended amount cannot be broken down the same way, since the label doesn’t reveal how the 200 milligrams is divided among the three botanicals. A blend could theoretically be split evenly, or one ingredient could make up the large majority of it — the label alone does not resolve that question, and the guide advises consumers not to assume an even split when comparing a proprietary blend to single-ingredient research.

Ingredient Research Overview

The guide summarizes published research associated with five of the formula’s components, framed as background on the ingredients rather than evidence concerning the finished product. In each case, the company stresses that the cited research examined the ingredient in isolation, often at a different dose, in a different population, and over a different duration than what applies to this formula.

L-Citrulline. Citrulline is an amino acid involved in the body’s nitric-oxide pathway. A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled pilot study of 18 elite soccer players examined single doses of 3 grams and 6 grams of citrulline against a sport-specific exercise protocol and found no statistically significant difference in most measured performance, fatigue or recovery outcomes.[1] The guide uses this study to illustrate two points at once: first, that gram-level doses are the norm in the citrulline research literature, which is worth knowing when comparing to a milligram-level label amount; and second, that even at those higher research doses, results were not uniformly positive — a null finding that the company says belongs in any fair summary of the evidence, rather than being omitted in favor of more favorable citations.

L-Carnitine. Carnitine is a naturally occurring compound involved in transporting fatty acids for cellular energy metabolism. The National Institutes of Health Office of Dietary Supplements states that carnitine occurs naturally in the body and in food, and that healthy people generally produce all they need; no recommended daily intake has been established for healthy adults.[2] The guide notes that this established nutritional role — carnitine’s function in normal metabolism — is a separate question from whether a specific milligram amount added to a finished formula produces an additional measurable effect, and the two should not be conflated when reading a label.

Panax Ginseng. The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health reports that Asian ginseng has been studied in multiple human trials, most involving fewer than 200 participants over less than three months.[3] Findings vary by outcome: a 2023 review summarized by NCCIH suggested a small effect on general fatigue, while most research does not show improved athletic performance, and evidence on glucose control is described as inconsistent. Because Soda Horse Peak’s label does not disclose how much of its 200-milligram blend is ginseng, the guide notes that none of this research can be quantitatively matched to the finished product — it is presented purely as background on an ingredient class.

Maca Root. A 12-week randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study in healthy adult men examined 1,500 milligrams and 3,000 milligrams of maca daily and found no significant change in measured reproductive hormone levels compared with placebo.[4] The guide cites this study specifically because it addresses a claim commonly associated with maca in general marketing — that it affects hormone levels — and because the study’s null result on that specific question is informative regardless of what any individual product claims. As with ginseng, maca’s specific quantity within Soda Horse Peak’s blend is not separately disclosed.

Rhodiola. NCCIH states there currently isn’t enough reliable evidence to determine whether rhodiola is useful for any health-related purpose, and describes much of the human research in this area as low-to-moderate quality, with studies generally running six to twelve weeks.[5] The agency also documents potential side effects including dizziness, headache, insomnia and dry mouth, along with a reported interaction with losartan, a blood-pressure medication. The guide flags this interaction specifically as a reason label-readers taking blood-pressure medication should review a product’s full ingredient list, not just its headline ingredients.

The guide notes that zinc, vitamin B6 and niacin are established nutrients with recognized roles in normal metabolism, immune function and enzymatic activity, according to NIH fact sheets on those nutrients.[6][7] These are individually listed on Soda Horse Peak’s label rather than folded into the proprietary blend. None of the research summarized in this section involved a trial of the complete finished formula; each study concerned a single ingredient, examined independently, often at a different dose and in a different population than what appears in this product. The company says it is not aware of any published clinical trial of its complete seven-ingredient formulation, and it does not describe the product as clinically proven on the strength of ingredient-level research alone.

What Does a Manufacturing Claim Actually Certify?

Soda Horse Peak identifies its Aurora, Colorado facility as manufactured in the U.S. and GMP-certified. The guide points out that Good Manufacturing Practice compliance, as defined by the FDA, governs manufacturing, packaging, labeling and holding operations — addressing production consistency, ingredient identity, purity and quality-control procedures, not whether a finished formula produces a measurable health effect.[8] Dietary supplements are not FDA-approved for effectiveness or safety before they reach the market, a distinction the company’s own disclaimer also states. The guide recommends that consumers treat a manufacturing or facility claim as a statement about how a product was made, not as a statement about what it does once consumed.

What Do Serving Instructions and Current Packaging Say?

The guide also addresses a narrower but practical point: online product descriptions and physical packaging can fall out of sync over time, particularly for products that have been on the market for a while or that have gone through label updates. Soda Horse Peak recommends that consumers treat the current Supplement Facts panel on the physical package — not an older website description or a third-party summary — as the authoritative source for serving size, directions and warnings at the time of use. This is presented as a general best practice applicable to supplement labels across the category, not as an indication of a specific discrepancy in this product’s own materials.

What Do Retailer Terms and Purchase Policies State?

The guide flags retailer and purchase-term transparency as a checklist item consumers often skip. Soda Horse Peak’s website as its retailer and describes a 60-day money-back guarantee across two-, three- and six-bottle packages. The company notes that a third-party retailer’s processing role does not amount to an endorsement of the product’s claims, and that refund windows, shipping terms and package pricing can change — making the current checkout page, rather than cached marketing copy, the reliable source at the moment of purchase. Consumers are advised to confirm whether a purchase is a one-time transaction or involves recurring billing before completing checkout, since subscription terms vary across the category and are not always presented identically to how they appear during an initial promotional offer.

Does the Label Address Medication Interactions?

Because several ingredients used across this product category — including citrulline-family compounds and adaptogenic botanicals — can be relevant to men taking blood pressure medication, nitrates or blood thinners, the guide recommends confirming that a product’s materials name these categories specifically rather than offering only a generic consult-your-doctor line. Soda Horse Peak’s published materials name blood pressure, nitrate and blood-thinning medications specifically as categories warranting professional consultation before use. The guide extends this recommendation to men managing diabetes, scheduled for upcoming surgery, or currently using other dietary supplements that may contain overlapping ingredients, since cumulative intake across multiple products is a separate consideration from any single product’s own label.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does this guide claim Soda Horse Peak works? No. It summarizes published ingredient research and addresses label transparency, not product efficacy.

Is GMP certification the same as FDA approval? No. GMP addresses manufacturing and quality-control standards; dietary supplements are not FDA-approved for effectiveness or safety before sale.

Why does the proprietary blend matter? Individual amounts for Panax ginseng, maca root and rhodiola are not disclosed within the 200-milligram blend, so none of the three can be independently compared to published research doses.

Does ingredient-level research prove the finished product works? No. Research on an individual ingredient, conducted at its own dose and in its own study population, does not establish that a finished multi-ingredient formula produces the same result.

Should consumers rely on the company’s website for current serving instructions? The guide recommends using the current physical package and Supplement Facts panel as the primary reference, since online materials and packaging can be updated at different times.

Who should consult a doctor before use? The company recommends professional consultation for men taking blood pressure medication, nitrates, blood thinners or diabetes medication, those scheduled for surgery, and those currently using other dietary supplements.

About Soda Horse Peak

Founded in 2021, Soda Horse Peak is a U.S. dietary-supplement brand offering honey-based gummy and liquid products for men’s general wellness, combining amino acids, botanical extracts, vitamins and minerals. The company states its products are manufactured in the U.S. at a facility it identifies as GMP-certified in Aurora, Colorado, and describes its approach as centered on ingredient transparency and consumer education rather than treatment claims.

References

[1] Suzuki, T., et al. The Effect of a Single Dose of Citrulline on the Physical Performance of Soccer-Specific Exercise in Adult Elite Soccer Players: A Pilot Randomized Double-Blind Trial.
[2] National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements — Carnitine: Fact Sheet for Consumers.
[3] National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health — Asian Ginseng: Usefulness and Safety.
[4] Gonzales, G.F., et al. Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled research examining maca in healthy adult men.
[5] National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health — Rhodiola: Usefulness and Safety.
[6] National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements — Zinc: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals.
[7] National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements — Vitamin B6: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals.
[8] U.S. Food and Drug Administration — Current Good Manufacturing Practice Requirements for Dietary Supplements.

Media Contact

Kevin Moore, Product Head
Soda Horse Peak
19655 E 35th Drive, Suite 100, Aurora, CO 80011
Phone: +1 (970) 406-7582
Email:
support@sodahorsepeak.com

Disclaimer: This guide summarizes publicly available research on individual ingredients and publicly disclosed label and manufacturing information; it does not constitute a clinical evaluation of the finished product. Soda Horse Peak is a dietary supplement. These statements have not been evaluated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Individual responses to dietary supplements may vary. Consult a qualified healthcare professional before use, particularly if taking prescription or over-the-counter medications, managing an existing medical condition, or scheduled for surgery.

About The Author